This Week in Color

September 07 2014 – I’m working on too many things at once, as per usual. Since my projects are usually complex and take a long time to complete, they often wear me out before I get all the way through so I keep a few running at a time. It also helps fight my fear of the blank canvass – if I keep a few projects running I never get to that scary moment where I’ve just finished a piece and I need to open a completely blank page and face the fear that I’ll never have another idea ever again. It’s a weird artists’ superstition but I know a lot of people get it.

Weekly Hues

Tropical landscape palette inspired by Jennifer Tyers

Tropical landscape palette inspired by Jennifer Tyers

Art Crush

My art crush this week is the Tasmanian artist Jennifer Tyers. Her watercolor landscapes breathe with a simplicity and vibrancy of color, and her illustrations are a whole lot of lively, dark and curious. You can find more of her work on her website.

Watercolor landscapes by Jennifer Tyers

Watercolor landscapes by Jennifer Tyers

WIP Zone

I’ve gone back to working on this thing. I like the main elements but they’re not coming together yet, I’ll need to add some more stuff and work on the background a bit more. I’m wondering if a more structured approach to defining the composition before I start painting wouldn’t give less uncertain results.

Glam Tropical by Celandine - work in progress

Glam Tropical by Celandine – work in progress

 

Leave a Reply

