This Week in Color

Aug 30 2014 – I’ve had very minor surgery on my foot but it has proven surprisingly debilitating, as I’m not allowed to put any weight on the foot for the next few days to make sure the stitches don’t get messed up and the whole thing heals properly. Day one saw me hopping around like some deranged impersonation of the Easter Bunny, day two brought a more refined technique of leaning on my tiptoes, which creates a hobble slightly more acceptable than the bunny hop. I hoped the injury might prove perfect for drawing but it’s really hard to find a comfortable position at my computer desk while keeping one leg consistently off the floor. I have a whole new level of respect for anyone who permanently lives with any sort of disability. We don’t realize how much we take for granted, daily.

Weekly Hues

The palette is inspired by this week’s Art Crush artist. The colors are subtle and slightly desaturated, but not to the point of seeming entirely vintage. Peach pink and chartreuse add some bite to the array. I’d love to see them applied on a lavish floral.

color palette inspired by Hungarian artist Ilonka Karasz

This week’s color palette is inspired by Hungarian artist Ilonka Karasz

Art Crush

Ilonka Karasz

Ilonka Karasz

My art crush this week is the Hungarian-born artist Ilonka Karasz, who designed many amazing covers for the New Yorker magazine during the forties, fifties and sixties. Karasz was born in 1986 but her work hasn’t aged a bit. She made 186 original cover designs for the magazine, back in the days when an issue used to cost 15 cents 🙂 They are all beautiful, and wonderfully varied.

She also did a lot of wonderful wallpaper design. I often find myself crushing on artists who do wallpaper design, and that’s definitely a market that appeals to me greatly.

Ilonka Karasz New Yorker covers

Ilonka Karasz, New Yorker covers from Jun 1945, Feb 1962 and Mar 1963

Check out this great Pinterest board for more of Ilonka’s work.

Browsing through online galleries of Ilonka’s work has made me want to do new wallpaper designs. I have a few sketches that could make a good starting point. Watch this space 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

